Philosophy Department

Student Academic Excellence Awards

Here are the awardees of the Student Academic Excellence Awards, where students are recognized for their academic achievements within the department. For further information for eligibility and due dates please contact us at


Emily Harrington Oscar Jablon Matthew Shalna Nicole Wrobol


Sabrina Jérôme Zachariah Neemeh Connor Robertson Austin Tindle

Student Success

Here is what some of the graduates from the UCF Department of Philosophy are doing now.

Class of 2017

Austin Cook has accepted a TA position and will be attending USF for an MA in American Studies in Fall 2017

Christopher Clemente will be attending the Levin College of Law at the University of Florida

Daniel Sega will be pursuing a Master of Studies in Philosophy as Oxford University

Darryl Hunter will be pursuing a MA in Religious Studies at Duke University in Fall 2017.

Zachariah Neemeh will be pursuing a PhD in Philosophy at the University of Memphis in Fall 2017.

Class of 2016

Chris Chambers is pursuing a Masters of Arts in the social sciences from the University of Chicago.

Garion Liberti will be attending Cornell Law School beginning Fall 2016.

Class of 2015

Brittany J. Murphy, who dual-majored in Humanities & Cultural Studies and Religion & Cultural Studies, is completing an M.A. at Dartmouth College and will be attending UCLA for a fully funded PhD in Cinema and Media Studies in fall 2017.

Class of 2014

Chris Clukay has undergraduate degrees in humanities and chemistry and is pursuing a Ph.D. in anthropology at the University of Florida with a National Science Foundation research fellowship. Additionally, Clukay was a ChinaVine team member.

Stephen Oldham is pursuing his JD at Wake Forest University School of Law. Stephen also coaches Wake Forest University’s regional ethics bowl teams.

Marcus Otte is pursuing a PhD in philosophy at Boston College.

Class of 2013

Jesus Luzardo is a PhD candidate in philosophy at Fordham University. His philosophical interests include 19th and 20th Century Continental Philosophy, Kierkegaard, and Latin American Philosophy.

Class of 2012

Samantha Schroeder is the Director of External Affairs, Foreign Policy Initiative, a think tank in Washington D.C. She previously worked at the Alexander Hamilton Society as Program Manager from 2013-2015.

Amir Sadeghi is a graduate student of philosophy at the New School for Social Research in New York City. He is also an illustrator and painter.

David Putney is currently a partner and director of all operations at two bars in Beijing: Capital Spirits, the world's first baijiu bar, and The Distillery by Capital Spirits: Beijing's first craft distillery. Capitial Spirits has grown from a small bar in a side alleyway of Beijing to a consulting company which helps Chinese spirit companies rebrand for the European and US markets. You can read more about them here:

Class of 2011

Chris Byron completed his MA in philosophy at the University of North Florida and is a PhD candidate in philosophy at the University of Georgia.

Tyler Viale has completed a dissertation on the phenomenology of eros and will be awarded a Ph.D. from Boston College

Class of 2010

Penny Middleton is an actress, screenwriter, and producer in New York City.

Class of 2007

 Jae Jerkins graduated with honors from the Humanities Program at UCF. He is now a professor of humanities and philosophy in the Honors Program at Tyler Junior College in Texas.

Class of 2006

Peter Olen completed his PhD in philosophy at the University of South Florida. Dr. Olen teaches philosophy at Lake Sumter State College and is primarily interested in the history of philosophy (especially 19th and 20th century American philosophy, as well as the history and philosophy of science). Dr. Olen is also the editor of the Florida Philosophical Review.

Class of 2005

Nathan Draluck received his M.A. and Ph.D. in Philosophy from the University of South Florida.

Class of 2004

Devin Dominguez is currently the Director of Development at the Art & History Museums in Maitland, Florida.

Class of 1994

Susan D. Rozelle, J.D. is the Associate Dean for Faculty and Professor of Law at Stetson University College of Law. She was presented the Professional Achievement Award from the UCF Burnett Honors College in 2015.

Philosophy Department • College of Arts & Humanities at the University of Central Florida
Phone: 407-823-2273 Fax: 407-823-6658  •